Abbottabad | ایبٹ آباد

Posted on January 7, 2023

ایبٹ آباد

Abbottabad is the capital city of Abbottabad District in the Hazara region of eastern Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Pakistan. It is the 40th largest city in Pakistan and fourth largest in the province of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa by population. It is about 120 km (75 mi) north of Islamabad-Rawalpindi and 150 km (95 mi) east of Peshawar, at an elevation of 1,256 m (4,121 ft). Kashmir lies a short distance to the east.

Abbottabad was founded in January 1853 by its namesake James Abbott, who made it the capital of Hazara. The city subsequently became an important center of the British Raj for cantonment and sanatorium. In 1901, Abbottabad became a part of the newly-established North-West Frontier Province. Following the Partition of India, it became a part of West Pakistan. In 1970, the Legal Framework Order appointed Abbottabad as the capital of the Hazara Division.